Uncategorized

This is what refined Sugar-Free can do! 5 years sugar-free?! (+pictures)

As of last year, I’ve been completely vegan, including cosmetics and shampoos, clothes, etc. Before that I might have been accurately labeled vegetarian, though there was a two month gap where I fell for the keto shtick and ate meat. I went back vegetarian, then February of 2016 I went vegan and haven’t looked back since. Originally it was for health reasons, now the animals’ well being has taken absolute precedence. But even prior to those changes, I dropped refined sugar. Completely. It’s been 5 years off of refined sugar, and I think it’s possibly one of the best things I’ve ever done. My skin is pretty incredible, since dropping it. I can go without foundation confidently. My blood pressure stays towards the low end of healthy, which is more desirable than the high end on the precipice of hypertension. My body doesn’t retain fat beyond a healthy, slender percentage. And, on top of that, I have so much fiber and goodness in my diet, I go to the restroom and empty my intestines 3-4 times a day. As gross as that sounds, it’s actually quite disturbing most people on the SAD (standard american diet) hold rotting food in their gut, typically releasing it once every two days OR MORE. I can’t even imagine that. My stomach quickly processes my food so that I am not only regular, but I typically empty out everything but the nutrients I retain, after every meal. I think that’s an optimally functioning body to do that. 

It’s been implied that our addiction to refined sugar is worse, stronger than heroin. They say breaking that addiction can feel more impossible than breaking a drug addiction. In the grand scheme of things, it IS an addiction.

The USDA reports the average American consumes approximately 150-170 pounds of refined sugar a YEAR!
That is mind-blowing. That’s 150 pounds of sugar annually, I’ve avoided for the last 5 years. I see so many struggle with body image, with their weight, with dieting that never ends well; I see people spend hours at the gym and baffle because there’s zero to minimal results.

Aside from the walking I do at work, I engage in zero exercise. I do not go to the gym. I do not walk or run. I am a refined Sugar-Free, moderate carb vegan. I enjoy diet Cokes occasionally. I concoct pretty interesting, surprisingly delicious recipes.

My fiance is hoping to join me once we’re living together, as cooking dinner for two is more economical  than two different dishes. On top of that, he’s wanting to go sugar-free simply from seeing the results it’s given me. I’m at my ideal body weight and size, I’m tone where fat has been stripped and the muscles that have always been hidden by it is now forefront.

“Some of the benefits of reducing your sugar intake in place of eating more whole foods include:

  • Help with losing weight and preventing obesity (4)Lowered risk for type 2 diabetes or prediabetes
  • Gaining more energy
  • Having more stabile moods
  • Reduced risk for inflammatory digestive conditions, such as irritable bowel disease (IBD), Crohn’s disease, candida, IBS and intolerance to wheat/gluten or FODMAP foods — many also notice less constipation, diarrhea, stomach bloating or acid reflux
  • When sugar contributes to obesity, a sugar-free diet lowers risk for conditions related to metabolic syndrome, such atherosclerosis, hypertension and heart disease
  • Possibly less risk for cancer
  • Protection against fatty liver disease
  • Better protection against other common conditions related to inflammation, weight gain and nutrient deficiencies like hemorrhoids,  kidney stones, peptic ulcer, PMS, autoimmune diseases, polycystic ovarian syndrome, and neurological diseases like dementia or Alzheimer’s disease” 

Source: https://draxe.com/sugar-free-diet/

Veganism, alone, does incredible things for the body. My fiance, who has always eaten normal, good food (not salads or rabbit food) still eats normal, mouth-watering foods. Pizzas, brownies, cereals, curries. Here are his results just from going vegan, and continuing to eat the same dishes only vegan-friendly ones: 

Leave a Reply

